A serious question about wearing tutus to work

 

Sorry for the lack of posts. I’ve been super busy and super sick. Why didn’t any of you tell me that being nine months pregnant is miserable? Oh, wait. Everyone told me that. I just didn’t listen.

As you likely know, the GOP met in McCall and shot down a rule that would have forced Republican candidates to get party leaders’ blessings before running in the primary.

Now folks are talking about a non-binding resolution that encourages the Idaho Legislature to override local anti-discrimination ordinances for LGBT folks. One remark in particular caught the attention of Jillian Rayfield at Salon:  

“Cornel Rasor, a former Bonner County commissioner and chairman of the Idaho GOP’s resolutions committee, said, “I’d hire a gay guy if I thought he was a good worker. But if he comes into work in a tutu … he’s not producing what I want in my office.” (Read Betsy Russell’s full story at the Spokesman-Review.)

OK. Here’s my serious question: If you were a business owner and an employee blatantly violated your office’s dress code by showing up in a tutu, couldn’t you fire them no matter what? Cuz that’s no longer about sexual orientation. If a heterosexual guy showed up to work dressed like that, his boss would probably show his tutu’ed butt out the door. Right? Or am I missing something?

I have a follow-up: Does anyone know of an instance where someone, male or female, straight or gay or otherwise, has actually worn a tutu to work? Actors and dancers don’t count. Please provide pictures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

